Reflecting

I was looking through an earlier blog in which I was sharing my venture into network marketing. A few months have elapsed since then, and I have taken steps to follow my dream, moving to Spain, and starting a new life.

As it turned out network marketing was not for me! Initially swept away by a burst of enthusiasm, the nagging doubts soon set in. As a starter, I loved the product and still use it daily. But did I want to become to become part of a polished marketing system? Why was I resisting?

Was it just me, or did it seem that I was in danger of becoming a network marketing bore with my friends?

Tuning in for the regular motivational updates and training sessions, it almost seemed as though “topping up” was part of a strategy to dull down my questions, a good plan to keep me focused, but a bit like brain washing? Hmmm.

The marketing system was very slick – a master stroke to encourage customers to try the product, but I had to buy the full size samples, and I had to keep buying a quota of product every month, unless I had found new customers who bought it. Hmmm.

I had to develop business builders, cloning the system I was following. Hmmm.

I gave it my best shot but in the end decided to walk away. What did I learn?

Firstly, I did tune in to the idea of defining my dreams, looking for my purpose, my “why” and that was good. (These were key elements in the system to get potential business builders to think about where they were in their current life and where they wanted to be in 5 years time).

I found a new very good friend within the network, and that was good.

For some people it is clear to me that network marketing can re-invent them and provide self confidence and belief. The regional conferences I attended were testimony to that. Lots of focused, successful people, able to deal with rejection 9 times out of 10. They weren’t faking it. It worked for them.

But for me? Hmmm.

Let’s face it, I wasn’t “hungry” for the money and recognition. I don’t feel comfortable following some one else’s script and system. I need to feel authentic and I didn’t. In fact trying to follow the “system” just made me feel bad about myself. I don’t need that.

It felt to me as though the self development framework that was used as a core training was camouflage, smoke and mirrors.

And below all of it, it seemed to me that the “machine” required a quota of spend, bringing new people into the system who had a quota of spend. So, contrary to the training “spin”, we were all moving product and recruiting people to move product.

So I quit. If you know me you would know I am not a quitter, in fact almost always stubbornly persevere, but it didn’t feel right to stick at it this time.

However, while I was contemplating my navel, and deciding whether I could hack it – let’s face it I couldn’t – I did get my butt into gear and progress a life long aspiration to move to Spain. Instead of dreaming about it we moved to action. We came out to Spain to look at houses, found a delightful house in the mountains and made an offer which was accepted.

Then a whole load of stressful steps needed to be taken to make it all happen. Probably the subject of another blog. But – yes we went to a “Place in the Sun” exhibition in Olympia to find out all the things we needed to do. (Incidentally the TV presenter Jasmine is lovely, but very tall!)

At the exhibition we found several removal companies, currency brokers, legal advisers (even a company who sold pre-bought funerals) and we realized we should have commissioned a survey as our house is on a hill. We wouldn’t buy a house in the UK without a survey, so why on earth did we think we didn’t néed to in Spain? We got very stressed but managed to sort out our survey thankfully. And we picked our removal company, packed and sailed to Santander with our dogs. A new adventure!

So do I regret the network marketing experiment? Yes and No. It was an expensive exercise, but I was able to sell the product I had bought that I didn’t want to keep for my own use or give as presents. Expensive cosmetics!! I was also able to use the experience to help me to make some choices and decisions about my life. To examine my dreams and act on them.

And you? What are your hopes and dreams?

20131215-010645.jpg

20131215-010713.jpg

20131215-010732.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under leadership, lifestyle, personal development, self esteem

Leave a Reply

